Skip to main content

Find a library

We have 5 libraries around our district, each with its own history and community. Read on to find out more.

Balclutha Community Library

Built in 1914, the Balclutha Library was one of 18 libraries in New Zealand granted funding by Andrew Carnegie. It is one of only two remaining New Zealand Carnegie libraries still operating in the original building today. The building underwent major renovations in 1988 and 1993 to bring it to its current size. With over 30,000 items, a built in reading pit, and plenty of space for programmes, the Balclutha Library sits at the heart of the Balclutha community, and the Clutha District.

23 John Street, Balclutha

Phone : 03 418 1677

Email :

Mon, Wed - Fri : 9 am to 5.30 pm

Tues : 9 am to 6 pm

Sat : 10am - 12 pm

Public holidays : closed

Lawrence Community Library

Mayor L.K. Fyall opened the Lawrence Community Library on April 30th in 1993. Created as a council service centre after the local government amalgamation of 1989, this initially small lending library has since grown to a collection of over 6,000 titles, with public computers and experienced staff on hand to help with any queries. In 2023, the Lawrence Community Library turned 30!

5 Peel Street, Lawrence

Phone : 03 485 9909

Monday - Friday

Mornings : 8.30 am - 12.30 pm

Afternoons : 1.30 pm - 5 pm

1st Wednesday of the month: opening 10.30am

Public holidays : closed

Milton Community Library

The first Milton library opened in 1870, in a newly built Athenaeum building. The library remained there until the 1970s, when it was relocated to 84 Union Street (now Provincial Antiques as of 2022). When the Milton Borough Council and Bruce County Council became part of the Clutha District Council in 1989, the library was moved to the current site - the former Bruce County building at 124 Union Street, Milton. The library has over 10,000 titles available, along with public computers, printing services, and a variety of programming.

124 Union Street, Milton

Phone : 03 417 8220

Mon : 8.30 am - 6 pm

Tue - Fri : 8.30 am - 5 pm

Public holidays : closed

Owaka Community Library

The Catlins Women's Institute opened the current Owaka library after the Second World War in 1945. In 1968 the library shifted into the Owaka Community Centre, and was operated by volunteers using the Country Library Service. The current joint multi-facility, which includes the Owaka Museum, Art Gallery, Owaka Community Library, and Catlins Information Centre, opened in 2007. This facility provides multiple services for both Catlins residents and visitors, and is our only library open seven days a week.

10 Campbell Street, Owaka

Phone : 03 415 8371

Email :

Mon - Sun : 8.30 am to 5 pm

Open 364 days a year (closed on Christmas day)

Tapanui Community Library

The Tapanui library opened in 1867 with 200 books in the then newly built Town Hall. Over the years the library has been run by multiple organisations and has been located in various locations around the town. The current location was built in 1966. In 1994 this building was redeveloped into its current state, including the beautiful purple carpet! This library is packed full of books and the experienced staff are always ready to lend a helping hand.

1 Suffolk Street, Tapanui

Phone : 03 204 8306

Mon - Fri : 8.30 am to 5 pm

Public holidays : closed

Share this

Share this page